Ergonomie

Alors qu’il y a matière à réflexion et certaines règles à suivre, nos corps sont si différents qu’il n’y a pas de modèle unique adapté au positionnement de vos épaulières et mentonnières. Mais nous pensons que cette vidéo de Hilary Hahn apporte quelques astuces utiles.

« Indications de posture pour les joueurs d’instruments à cordes » du magazine Strings a plus d’une décennie mais reste inégalable pour donner des astuces essentielles afin de maintenir une bonne position de jeu. En voici un court extrait:

« Les muscles préfèrent être dans des positions demandant le moins de tension et d’efforts possibles. Les données révèlent un risque élevé de blessure si l’activité requiert l’adoption de postures inconfortables, figées (ou maintenues) ou de positions durant lesquelles le corps se crispe. Ce sont des positions indésirables car elles exercent ou accroissent la tension sur les articulations de manière inégale ou asymétrique. Pourtant, ces postures sont souvent inévitables, particulièrement lorsque la nature de l’activité semble ne permettre aucune autre alternative. »

Muscles like to be in positions of the least strain and the least effort. Data indicates an increased risk of injury if work necessitates adopting awkward postures, fixed (or held) postures, or stiff body positions. These are undesirable as they load or put stress on joints in an uneven or asymmetrical way. Yet, many times these postures are unavoidable, especially when the nature of work seemingly yields no other options.

 

Et pour ceux d’entre vous qui s’intéressent, et comprennent, les sciences du mouvement humain et la manière dont elle affecte le jeu des instruments à cordes, voici l’article d’une revue médicale qui analyse les Troubles musculo-squelettiques chez les violonistes et altistes professionnels les plus communs. Extrait:

« Les causes principales de troubles musculosquelettiques rencontrées chez les instrumentistes sont l’utilisation excessive, la compression nerveuse et la dystonie focale. La douleur est le symptôme principal des lésions causées par une utilisation excessive pour lesquelles les musiciens qui jouent des instruments à cordes sont les plus affectés.

Ces troubles sont causés par des facteurs intrinsèques et extrinsèques. La relation entre les musiciens et leurs instruments est le point central de l’analyse ergonomique et de la formation biomécanique alors que l’alignement postural est essentiel car il mène à des positions appropriées du cou et de la main. »

Ergonomics

While there’s lots to think about and some rules to follow, there’s no one-size-fits-all approach to positioning your shoulder rest. So, we asked Osteopath Sebastien De Sa Neves Da Rocha for his advice on how to play in a relaxed and safe way. In this video he shares how his professional expertise helps him in his own musical practice.

For advice on how to find the setup that is right for you, we think Hilary Hahn provides some useful tips.

Posture pointers for String Players‘ from Strings magazine is more than a decade old, but it remains second-to-none in providing essential tips for maintaining a good playing position. Here’s a short excerpt:

Muscles like to be in positions of the least strain and the least effort. Data indicates an increased risk of injury if work necessitates adopting awkward postures, fixed (or held) postures, or stiff body positions. These are undesirable as they load or put stress on joints in an uneven or asymmetrical way. Yet, many times these postures are unavoidable, especially when the nature of work seemingly yields no other options.

And for those of you with an appetite for – and grasp of – the science of human movement and how it affects string playing, here’s an article from a  medical journal that reviews the most common musculoskeletal disorders in professional violinists and violists. Excerpt:

The main causes of musculoskeletal disorders seen in instrumentalists are overuse, nerve compression and focal dystonia. Pain is the main symptom of overuse lesions and musicians who play string instruments are the most affected.

There are intrinsic and extrinsic factors for these disorders. The relationship between musicians and their instruments is the focal point of ergonomic analysis and biomechanical training, while postural alignment is essential, leading to appropriate neck and hand positions.